Micah: minor prophet -major message!

No doubt the Book of Micah is one of the lesser prophecies in the Old Testament but it contains much which is applicable to today.

He came from Moresheth

https://i2.wp.com/www.netours.com/images/stories/shephelah/maresha/moresheth-gath.jpg

It was in very close proximity to the land of the Phillistines so must have been a difficult place to live sometimes.

Like many of the prophets, his message was a warning of impending judgment and condemnation of the endemic sins of the times.  Land grabbers and false prophets and the injustice of leadership and legal system are rife in his time. He preached to both Israel and Judah and was unsparing to the prevailing sins of the nations.

Interspersed with the promises of God’s coming wrath are the promises of mercy and restoration.  God punishes but longs to bless.  It is good that motivates the actions of God.

“Do not my words do good
    to the one whose ways are upright? Micah 2:7b

As always the people pleaded their past relationship to God as the reason that judgment would fall on the nations but not them.

Her leader’s judge for a bribe,
    her priests teach for a price,
    and her prophets tell fortunes for money.
Yet they look for the Lord’s support and say,
    “Is not the Lord among us?
    No disaster will come upon us.”
12 Therefore because of you,
    Zion will be plowed like a field;
Jerusalem will become a heap of rubble,
    the temple hill a mound overgrown with thickets. Micah3:11-12

The promise of the coming of the nations to a relationship with the Lord is also foretold and peace, true and lasting, will flourish. See Micah chapter 4:1-8

In chapter 5 verse 2 we even have a promise of the great Saviour who will be the means by which this all will be accomplished.

 “But you, Bethlehem Ephrathah,
    though you are small among the clans[b] of Judah,
out of you will come for me
    one who will be ruler over Israel,
whose origins are from of old,
    from ancient times.”

Micah also tells us about the sort of person that God looks to and what He requires of him.

With what shall I come before the Lord
    and bow down before the exalted God?
Shall I come before him with burnt offerings,
    with calves a year old?
Will the Lord be pleased with thousands of rams,
    with ten thousand rivers of olive oil?
Shall I offer my firstborn for my transgression,
    the fruit of my body for the sin of my soul?
He has shown you, O mortal, what is good.
    And what does the Lord require of you?
To act justly and to love mercy
    and to walk humbly[a] with your God. Micah 6:6-8

In the prophecy of Micah we are called upon to “Hear the rod”. It has something to say to us. It is the finger God uses to point out our wrongdoings and disobedience. It is the Father’s job to chastise and ours to learn the lesson.

When we do we receive the mercy.

Who is a God like you,
    who pardons sin and forgives the transgression
    of the remnant of his inheritance?
You do not stay angry forever
    but delight to show mercy.
19 You will again have compassion on us;
    you will tread our sins underfoot
    and hurl all our iniquities into the depths of the sea.
20 You will be faithful to Jacob,
    and show love to Abraham,
as you pledged on oath to our ancestors
    in days long ago. Micah 7:18-20

 

There is also a word for the downtrodden and those at the last gasp,

But as for me, I watch in hope for the Lord,
    I wait for God my Savior;
    my God will hear me.

Do not gloat over me, my enemy!
    Though I have fallen, I will rise.
Though I sit in darkness,
    the Lord will be my light.
Because I have sinned against him,
    I will bear the Lord’s wrath,
until he pleads my case
    and upholds my cause.
He will bring me out into the light;
    I will see his righteousness.
10 Then my enemy will see it
    and will be covered with shame,

Micah 7: 7-10a

 

This is a brief overview but read the book for yourself.

_______________________________________________________________________

Micah: minor prophet -major message!

Leave a Reply

