Give me the Old time religion.

One thing about my criticisms of “Todays” church, is that people who are so inclined can point to other churches and denominations and say “Yes that is going on there’. They are not overly full of gospel preaching. They are on the prosperity hype trip.
They are throwing everything old overboard to get the youngsters in.

Is not your church different from what it was thirty years ago? Are you wondering what happened to sin and hell? How much preaching do you hear from the Old Testament? Why are hymns seldom heard and ruined when played? If your church is not on the “search for relevance”, “Downgrade”, fortunate Art Thou!!

If I can say one positive thing about the current state of the church is that it makes the true believers (I am not pointing at myself as one)  among it, stand out with brighter lustre.

The Duke

I wanted to write about John Wayne. I know how popular he still is. One thing that blighted him in later life was the fact he did not serve his’ country in the second world war.
He was exempt because of his’ age and was not drafted. Also His’ studio promised to sue him if he walked away from his’ contract with them. He even tried to join the O.S.S. the predecessor of the C.I.A. but failed. These disappointments tended to make him ultra patriotic and right wing for the rest of his’ life.


There are no 4F Christians , there are no exemptions or draft dodgers. Having flat feet or a stigmatism will not excuse anyone from serving Christ .
Am I a soldier of the cross,
A follower of the Lamb,
And shall I fear to own His cause,
Or blush to speak His Name?

Must I be carried to the skies
On flowery beds of ease,
While others fought to win the prize,
And sailed through bloody seas?

Are there no foes for me to face?
Must I not stem the flood?
Is this vile world a friend to grace,
To help me on to God?
Sure I must fight if I would reign;

Increase my courage, Lord.
I’ll bear the toil, endure the pain,
Supported by Thy Word.
Thy saints in all this glorious war
Shall conquer, though they die;

They see the triumph from afar,
By faith’s discerning eye.
When that illustrious day shall rise,
And all Thy armies shine
In robes of victory through the skies,
The glory shall be Thine

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

 

Unliterate

No doubt the ex schoolteachers among you have picked up the fact that I am not the best in writing. My spelling is poor and my grammar and punctuation skills are singularly lacking. This may put me in good company.

 

When they saw the courage of Peter and John and realized that they were unschooled, ordinary men, they were astonished and they took note that these men had been with Jesus. Acts 4:13

Maybe I could spend time with Jesus and my educational shortcomings may hide behind His’ glory.

Give me the Old time religion.

Leave a Reply

